CHANGING THE WORLD

Posted on Updated on

that was today’s title of the devotion in my ‘Daily Bread’ Bible reading plan…
Cindy Hess Kasper wrote this devotional and it touched me.. This is what she wrote..

It’s a full-time job trying to get people to change. Oh, what a perfect world it would be — if only other people would do what we want…

A plague in our family room may hold the key to the secret of change. It’s in Dutch, but translated it reads: 

CHANGE THE WORLD — BEGIN WITH YOURSELF

Not what most of us want to hear.

Jesus told a parable about the problem of not seeing your own faults. He said, “How can you say to your brother,  ‘Brother, let me remove the speck that is in your eye,’ when you yourself do not see the plank that is in your own eye? Hypocrite! First remove the plank from your own eye” (Luke 6:42)
Being able to see other people’s faults easily without ever noticing my own is not just an indication of hypocrisy. It can be a wake-up call that the problem in a struggling relationship may be me. Perhaps it’s my attitude that needs to change. Or I’m the one whom needs to apologize. Maybe I’m the person who needs a humble spirit.
It’s a lesson some of us have to learn over and over. We can’t change others, but with God’s help we can change our own behavior. And when our attitude changes,  it may seem as if others have changed as well.

To change can be a wonderful prospect,
though often it’s met with resistance;
The transformation begins within us
And will take a lot of persistence.

–Hess

When God works a change in us He can change others through us

This devotional helped me so much, because I realize I still have so many things to work on and get better with. And while I feel that I have been changing for the better and want those close to me to see these changes,  I must continue to strive to change and get better daily. Die to my old self, crucify my flesh, stay humble, stay hungry and seek after God’s heart.  there’s so much wrong that I’ve done in the past, but God continually gives me chance after chance to make it right,  and I feel that I’m stepping up to the plate and answering the call, finally.  But I can’t wait for those around me to notice change,  I have to strictly chase after God. Man won’t ever be satisfied with man’s progress. I’ve learned that enough. God, however,  will see that progress.  I, too, have been guilty of calling someone out in their faults,  seeing the speck in their eye without first removing the beam in my own. I’ve also encouraged and praised others and acknowledged them for their progress in their own life because I personally feel that it’s important to admire someone’s progress rather its growth spiritually, increase financially, or physical or psychological and emotional improvements in their life. I just need to realize that I won’t always be acknowledged for my changes,  and I’m okay with that. 

Jesus says in Luke 6:43-45 (KJV)
For a good tree bringeth not forth corrupt fruit; neither doth a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit.  For every tree is known by his own fruit. For of thorns men did not gather figs, nor of a bramble bush gather they grapes.  A good man out of good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is evil:  for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh. “

I just want to bring forth good fruit and continue to grow in God. That’s all I want to do. Bring forth good fruit in my home, my family especially with raising my daughter the best that I can, bring forth good fruit in my relationships with people in my life,  at work,  and eventually the community and world.

Father, help me to change. Help me to stay persistent in my current changes and to always strive and thirst for more of Your presence. Help me to bare good fruit each and every day in every area of my life. I love you so much, thank You for Your faithfulness. Amen.

Leave a Reply

