The Internship…

Posted on Updated on

There’s a movie out called ‘The Internship’ Staring Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn. Its about two people. According to IMDb, the movie is about two salesmen whose careers have been torpedoed by the digital age find their way into a coveted internship at Google, where they must compete with a group of young, tech-savvy geniuses for a shot at employment.

I haven’t seen the movie. But I am in a similar position.

I left my previous job to take on this internship for a number of reasons. 1.I was interested in this opportunity ever since it was presented at a job fair my school was holding. 2.  I was originally interested in staying at my job at the time and working towards a promotion, and was unable to do so. 3. This would be my first internship ever and would look great on a resume. 4.  The pay was higher, so that was intriguing.

Basically, this internship is for a financial services company, sort of like an alternative to traditional banking. And the position is for a District Manager position with the opportunity to promote up in the company in the future. So far during the internship, Me and four other interns have learned about the company on all different levels. The different functions, and the different roles the employees have. After an introductory week in the office, the past few weeks have been out in the field, getting a real world feel of what the position of District Manager is like. The experience thus far has been a unique one. Definitely different from anything I’ve experienced.

This being my first internship, I did not know what to expect. Would I be sharpening pencils, making copies, grabbing coffee for the boss? Truth be told, if it wasn’t for the use of pens, I’d be doing all of the above mentioned…. But this internship is way different than the usual one.

I’m interested in pursuing opportunities with this company, and I’m also open to any opportunities that this internship offers me outside for this company.

I may go see the movie just to see how it works out for those two. So far so good for me. More than half of the way through this summer internship, the biggest challenge is still to come…. Presenting a Business Case to the Senior Executives of the company…

This is the biggest thing I’ve ever had to prepare for… I believe I’m up for the challenge. I’m just beyond grateful for this opportunity to have an internship and excited for how it could shape my future for myself and my family. 🙂

-J

Leave a Reply

