The dilemma

Posted on

Image

 

 

It’s a good one. but one nonetheless. 

School vs. Work. 

For the first time in over a year, I’ll be back inside a college classroom and for most people, just making it there is good enough, but others know the real challenge is actually staying in college. No matter what circumstance you experience, it’s the upward battle to get back where you once were that makes you truly appreciate “The college experience” And if you are blessed enough to stay in school and finish 4 consecutive years or how ever many years it takes to finish, kudos to you! Honestly, I thought that would be me. But financial circumstances, and other occurrences proved otherwise. But I’m back, and this time, I will finish what I started… 

But my current work situation may have something to say about how long it takes me to finish what I started.. Currently I’m employed at one of the most highly regarded banks in the world. I love my position as a bank teller, I’m grateful to be given the opportunity. I love the co-workers that I work with, I love the customers who come in day-to-day. Well, most of them anyway. This is by far the best job I have had, all things considered, and I would really hate to leave the company, as well as the location I work at. However, there is one just small dilemma that may end up in such a thing happening.. 

 

My class schedule. 

I paid a visit last month to the school I will call educational and social home for the next two years. The University of Texas at Arlington. I was advised by a counselor and registered for classes on the spot. Not to mention this was all done after officially changing my major (or intent to become a major) from Accounting to Communication with concentration in Radio/TV Broadcasting. I switched from something I knew how to do since my senior year in High school, to something I have dreamed about doing since junior high. 

There’s one class on my schedule that would restrict me from being able to work a usual shift at my job at least three days out of the week. Another class that would most likely keep me from working at all one more day, leaving just one week day and Saturday to work.. the fear is that my employer would not be able to work with me in trying to work around both my work and class schedule.

Thus.. I have a dilemma. 

Option A: Drop the one class I have in the afternoon keeping me from working 3 days out of the week. 

Pro: I’ll most likely be able to still work my usual work schedule. This would relieve 3 hours off my class schedule giving me only a load of 12 hours this upcoming semester instead of 15. This also would save some money reducing the cost of tuition by one class. 

Con: This ultimately delays my anticipated graduation date by one semester. The class that I may have to be dropped is collaborates with another class on my schedule to be a prerequisite for a higher level course. Thus taking both classes sooner, allows me to take the next level course the following semester.  

 

Option B: Don’t drop the class. Risk the chance of being let go/or putting two weeks in at my employer. 

Pro: Education comes first. Simply put. There’s always other employment opportunities, and I may even find something on campus. 

Con: If my employer is unable to work with me and my class schedule, and I’m forced  then I lose out on benefits that I have now. Insurance, paid time off, etc. those perks don’t come on day 1 of a new job. 

 

So there you have it. I’m in a dilemma, but it’s not a bad one. However, choosing one of these options won’t be easy. Now that I’m back in school, I would like to finish soon. Really soon. But I don’t want to just give up my job, if there is any way possible to keep both all the same, then I’m all for it. I need to pray and thoroughly think this one through… 

 

I need to do more personal posts like this.. I will try my best to get more of my thoughts on here. my mind never stops… 

Leave a Reply

