It’s A New Year

Posted on

Which means a new start, a new beginning.

The clock stuck midnight, 2011 went to 2012.

Out with the old , in with the new.

People all over are starting all over again, whether its making a long list of resolutions that probably wont be kept, meeting new people, and adding to your circle, or subtracting some people out of your life, its no question that the turn of the calendar has everyone wanting to make changes.

Granted those changes wont take place overnight, most of them will take the full year to take effect, its the motive behind the changes that counts the most.

I personally don’t have any resolutions, unlike in past years i would make a list of them consisting of losing weight, going to sleep on time, focusing more in school, and less worry and hassle about pointless stuff, cut down on the stress.

Now even though I opted not to make official resolutions, those are still objectives for the new year. Cut back on stress, get back in the gym, and stay consistent, but not just work out physically, but also spiritually, i have to make this year the year I’m consistent in my relationship with God. the way 2011 ended I was not pleased with myself, the way I had slipped in my relationship with God, how i let my flesh over take me…

Thats why I’m grateful God is allowing me to see 2012, or at least the first few days, to get my mind back right, and get back to serving Him. loving Him not just with my words but with my thoughts and actions, and my heart. I want to get to a point, where nothing has my full whole heart devotion and love but God. I want to love people and love myself of course, but I honestly don’t feel that God has all of my love,

The bible says God is love, so to know love is to know God, and if i feel that i don’t have all of my love for God, or I’m not loving God like I should, then I don’t know Him like i should… so I need to get back in His Word, having more personal devotional time with Him, putting Him first in all that I do. Don’t start my day if I don’t start my day with Him, that’s objective #1

Objective #2 is simple. Cut back on the pointless stress. No point in me stressing over things I cannot change, Back in 2011 i caught myself doing that so many times, and that had me ended up in places and situations I had no business being, not to mention my blood pressure was sky rocketing. Although be it I’m only 21, but when your blood pressure shoots up, it does not matter how young or old you are, it becomes a high concern. All of that stressing I was doing was over people. I mean i would stress out more about the person the actual situation, and I know that’s just unnecessary stress. A waste of breath if you ask me. So in 2012, less stress and more patience. Stressing on people came from having the wrong expectation of them. No more expectations on people , not low, but none whatsoever.

Objective #3 Improve the things that need to be improved. Getting back in the gym, i may not need to lose a lot of weight, but definitely would like to pick up some muscle. I haven’t been consistent on my workouts, but I know the gyms gone be packed for the first few weeks of the new year. I bet gyms make a killing on the memberships at the start of the new year. i don’t blame them, I’m not making this a resolution, but an objective to work out at least 3, if possible 4 days out the week. we’ll see how that goes…

Other things that need improving, just my overall mindset, because I feel i over analyze too much on things that shouldn’t deserve that type of attention. Last year I thought way too much about things that no one else was thinking about.  This time i wont be giving myself a headache over things or people that aren’t even worried about me..

Objective #4 may be the most simple one of all. Live life. enjoy it, its a brand new year . meet someone new, let go of someone, or just love yourself more.

 

Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.
-Philippians 3:13-14

It may just be three words, but you never know what those three words might mean to someone.. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Leave a Reply

