Contentment: Nothing less, Nothing more

Posted on Updated on

It’s patience.

It’s waiting.

It’s not wanting any more than what you have. it’s telling yourself that you have everything that you need. Even if you truly ‘want’ more, you realize that you DON’T NEED more.

Contentment isn’t the fulfillment of what you want, its the realization of what you already have! 

What is the secret of Contentment??

How I praise the Lord that you are concerned about me again. I know you have always been concerned for me, but you didn’t have the chance to help me. Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. -Philippians 4:10-13

Contentment is the ability to have satisfaction with God’s plan for my place, position and possessions in life.

1 Timothy 6:6-8 comes to mind. “For Godliness with contentment is great gain…….” one of my favorite scriptures. 

Being content in life is one thing. Being content in God is another thing. knowing that you’re content in God, is knowing He’s got all that you need. he’s got you taken care of.

Being content isn’t easy. Doesn’t come overnight shipped express mail. It’s a learned lifestyle.

When you’re content, you can trust God’s plan. Psalm 139:13-16

Being able to trust in God in itself may not always be easy. But it’s heavily advised over leaning on your own understanding.

You’ll never be content, leaning on your own understanding, and trusting your own ways. Proverbs 3:5-7, 21:2

When you’re content, you can trust God’s provision.

God will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4-5. God will give you a heart to desire what He desires. 

When you’re content, you can trust God’s presence.

Don’t love money; be satisfied with what you have. For God has said, “I will never fail you. I will never abandon you.” -Hebrews 13:5

When you have contentment, you have peace. You’re satisfied with God. You want nothing more, nothing less.

Psalms 23 says the Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.

Contentment is this: Learning how to live for today, and not for yesterday, or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

