From the vault: ‘Under Construction’

Posted on Updated on

An old post from a previous blog ‘Inside my Head’… a post written back in April 2010, but the message still applies…


….UNDER CONSTRUCTION….

Today.. i was driving home from school and i noticed that i had to take a detour on the highway to get back on the usual highway.. The reason i had to take that detour was because the original highway was under construction and it was receiving extensive repairs.. That highway had been the cornerstone for that part of the city for many years. it connected one part of the busy city to the other part. and now it was going under repairs because it had been overcrowded and overpopulated. The repairs were needed to widen the roads and add lanes to this highway.

 Well, when i drove through that patch in the highway, I came up to a sign that read ‘Road Work Ahead’ The left lane was closed and traffic was going to be reduced to only two lanes. usually this highway had the capacity of three lanes going in each direction and when rush hour came, the lanes would be overcrowded…

 So as the driver, i would usually be frustrated.. i couldnt travel the normal path to get to where i was going. i was so used to driving my normal speed of 60 mph, but now because of this construction i had to slow down and re-adjust to the traffic…

 By the looks of the extensive repairs, it will probably take at least a year to rebuild and re-facilitate this passage way, the new highway will be finished and more lanes will be available to drive through.. the construction would be complete….

 Well, i have my own road of sorts. I’ve been traveling on it for 19 going on 20 years.. Everything has been going fine with my direction. I’ve had a few rush hours, a close call, a hit and miss.. but i never really lost my sense of where i was going, and if i did, i never was distracted or detoured…

That was up until last year when i started college. i had just finished high school and i was ready to jump out in the world and embark a new start. a cool fun start. meet lots of new friends, have real fun times doing whatever looked fun.. not cause i wanted to fit in, but because it looked fun, and i joined in on it.. Before i realized, i had lost my sense of where i was going. Freshman year was like the worse rush hour i could have imagine, everything was happening so fast, yet i never had time to stop and think of what i was doing. Rush hour usually doesnt always mean you’re speeding or going fast in your commute, sometimes you were backed up, stuck in traffic.

 Well the consequences of my actions started to back me up… and i became stuck in traffic. the traffic around me wasnt because of my consequences.. it was because that road was overcrowded and overdriven….alot of the people had traveled on that fast track in college. doing whatever looks good, not caring what it was or what it really meant, but just doing it. Well i had it. i was on that fast track and at first it seemed real cool. it was fun, so many people were doing it. The partying, the drinking, the smoking, the sex. so i joined in. and i come to realize that all of that might have been fun for a short while, but all along it was just ruining the road i was on. a highway goes under construction for lots of reasons. Traffic, overcrowded, potholes. all of the above. My road had all of that. The potholes that started forming on my road were the feelings of guilt after i did one of those things. Eventually i decided.. it was time to make a change… what i thought at first was right, wasn’t. It was time to go under construction.

 I havent always been close to God, and i only have myself to blame. but in realizing that now, i want to change my life and reconstruct my life and allow God to make extensive repairs to my highways. I want Him to widen my path, build bridges of Faith, Love, Strength, Confidence and build them high over the pit of sin, hate, weakness, and insecurity. I want Him to be the repairman to tear my old self down and rebuild a new, God Fearing person. and I realize that this, like the construction project on the major highway i drove on, will take some time, but I’m willing to go all the way this time. I’m believing this time, I’m going to receive His blessings he has in store for me. But to get a blessing, you have to be a blessing. i want to help other people, as best as i can but thru God. Friends, Family, People on my job, people at my school, complete strangers.. i want to be a blessing to them. Because God has been too good to me, to bring me out off that road that had been overcrowded and rotten with potholes.

I want to do better. i have to improve.. and through God, which all things are possible, that will happen. I have to continue to be close to Him,.. and He will see me through. No question about that.. but it will take some time… so until then… I’m

Being confident of this, that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

-Philippians 1:6 

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. 

2 Corinthians 5:17


		
Leave a Reply

