“The King is in the Building”

Posted on

Pastor Carter started a mini two week series leading up to Easter Sunday entitled ‘The Crown and the Cross’.

Today, he was focusing in on The Crown. How Jesus Christ is the one and ONLY King there is. King of Kings and Lord of Lords.
The sermon was taught from Luke 19:28-40. Jesus was heading back to Jerusalem for ministry. While He was traveling to Jerusalem, He and his disciples came to the town of Bethphage and Bethany on the Mount of Olives (v.29) He sent his disciples ahead to go and untie a donkey from a village, and told them that if anyone had asked why you are untying the ‘colt’, tell them that ‘The Lord needs it’. (v. 30,31.) The disciples went and untied the donkey, and just as Jesus had said would happen, they were asked why they were untying it, and told the owners of the donkey in the village just as Jesus told them, that the Lord needs it.

From then, the disciples brought the donkey to Jesus, and He rode on it, attracting crowds from all over, and the crowd prepared the garments on the road ahead of Him. The people began to cry out shouts of praise and songs as Jesus rode onto the road leading down the Mount of Olives. They praised God for all the wonderful miracles they had seen Jesus do. (v.36-38)

Blessings on the King who comes in the name of the Lord! Peace in heaven, and glory in highest heaven! Luke 19:38 (NLT)

But something interesting happened. Amongst the crowd, The Pharisees said to Jesus, “Teacher, rebuke your followers for saying things like that.” v.39

Jesus replied with these words…

I tell you that, if these should hold their peace, the stones would immediately cry out. (v.40 KJV)

Pastor pointed out three things we should do..

1. Just relax for the King is in Charge. most times, we try to do things in our life on our own. I know i do. relationships, work, home life, school, a transition in your life. Whatever it is, you have to realize that you cant do it by yourself. you need a King in your life. Like myself, I wont be able to finish this semester at school by myself, I wont be able to grow in my relationship by myself, or continue to improve on my job, or be a better family person, i can’t do that all by myself. I need a King in my life. I need King Jesus to be with me every step of the way.

2. Join in the King’s Great Celebration The crowds were singing songs of praise all while Jesus was riding in on a donkey. They were praising and worshiping God and his son Jesus Christ for all the wonderful miracles He had already done. We must join in the party of celebration and praise God, giving honor and glory to the name that is above every name. for everything He has already done, is worthy enough of all the praise. I heard once in a song, that if Jesus doesn’t do anything else, He’s already done enough!! Celebrating not just the miracles that He has performed, but for what He did for us. Dying on the cross, taking our sins and washing them away in His innocent blood. He may not have done a personal miracle in your life, but what He did on the cross for ALL of us, including yourself, well i don’t know about you , but that makes me want to lift my hands and shout GLORY!!! How many miracles will it take for you to truly understand how good our God is, how wonderful Jesus Christ is??

3. Just realize the party is unstoppable. The Pharisees asked and requested that Jesus ‘rebuke your followers for saying things like that’ (praising). In today’s times we can relate that to people who try to persecute you and criticize you for giving God the praise. Theres a word for those type of people. haters. Pastor said in his sermon, that this particular party, this celebration is what he called an open invitation. That means no one forced you to come, no one said you had to be there either. but its a party worth being there. in verse 40, Jesus said If these people keep quiet, then the rocks will cry out. Pastor said in the message, what Jesus was referring to in the rocks, was that of nature. Jesus would be praised, regardless of who would be praising Him. All of nature, birds, ducks, dogs, the sun rising every morning, everything in nature would give God the praise, regardless. In other words, if you don’t praise Jesus, somebody else will.
I dont know about you, but i dont want a duck, dog, bird, or any other animate object to praise the name of Jesus, Lord God the Father, in my place. I have my own mouth and tongue, and as scripture says, everything that has breath praise ye the Lord. At the name of Jesus, every knee shall bow, and every tongue shall confess that Jesus Christ is Lord.

The King of Kings is truly in the Building! And he is not going anywhere!

Lord, I praise and lift your name up! I give you all the glory and honor! Inhabit my praise, O Lord.
I don’t want anyone else, or anything else take the place of my praise for You!

I love you Lord, and glorify You, this day and everyday. Eternally grateful for you to be the head of my life.
You are King!

Leave a Reply

