Courtship Pt.1

Posted on Updated on

image

This is a new season in my life. Something a little bit familiar, yet different than before. It may be a new relationship , but its not the same feeling like the ones in the past. My thought process is different, my actions have changed , my outlook of things have definitely been rearranged. For once, I think every action and word I say all the way through , or at least I try to. What surprises me the most is that I’m praying more , in this aspect of my life. I’ve introduced God into my social and personal life, where before it would be protocol that me and the person I would be involved with would just go to church… but now I realized it has to be more than just that. I’ve caught myself praying for myself in this new season with this new friend. I’ve caught myself praying for that person, we’ve prayed together a few times, and even I’ve been prayed for.

This season is definitely a different one. But I’m enjoying each day God blesses me to see. I’m reading a book on courtship , and all that I’ve read so far has enlightened me, yet also challenged me. That challenge is to ask God, and seek counsel from trustworthy people on whether or not I’m completely ready for this…

I’ll be honest. If I was attracted to this person like I am now, 2 years ago, for all the same pure and clear intentions, we would have already been in a relationship. Why? Because I would have jumped the gun and dove in head first with emotion . Rushing into something good, but not yet letting that good something mature into something great
That’s not what I want to do.

What i would like to do is carefully take my time in this season. Every step i take i want it to be ordered by God, and I definitely want to be on one accord with my significant other. I feel that those are two very key factors if all of this will fall into place

Whatever does happen, I just really thank God for thus far. He has truly worked in me and on me. I am not the same old person, rushing into something, living on impulse, and in the moment, although sometimes its okay to do so, its not always wise to do so.

That’s what I’ve learned to this point..in reading the book I’m reading (‘Boy meets Girl, Say Hello to Courtship’ by Josh Harris) , I’ve learned that my feelings for this person I plan on courting are rapidly growing , but after prayer and reading, I realize that my feelings must be accompanied by wisdom. God given wisdom.

But the wisdom from above is first of all pure. It is also peace loving, gentle at all times, and willing to yield to others. It is full of mercy and good deeds. It shows no favoritism and is always sincere. -James 3:17


God’s wisdom is pure and that’s the wisdom I want. Yielding to others, and always sincere. Sometimes no matter how much I feel for her, I have to consider and take into account what’s best for her.
Philippians 2:3-4 says that I should be selfless, and humble, not trying to impress , but thinking more of others more than I think of myself.

That’s my challenge. Interesting how my challenge doesn’t involve how and what I feel for this person. The challenge is what I must do, to ask God to help me accomplish those things in order to maintain, mature and enjoy what I feel.
I have to go at it with a new mindset. But by trusting in God, and believing in what He’s already done,

what He’s about do…

It’s well worth the challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

